The Six limbs of Jyotish

Anga means limbs. There are six limbs to Jyotish, just as there are Six Vedangas for the Vedas. The great work Prasna Marga states that one conversant with all the six branches will never fail in predictions. This is what makes an astrologer a Daivajna – the knower of God’s intentions. The Six limbs are


  • Gola
  • Ganita
  • Jataka
  • Prasna
  • Mahurtha
  • Nimmita